I am looking at your American face

I am looking at your American face

White Anglo-Saxon Protestant

Blue bright eyes with a friendly smile- I wonder why.

Would you be brave enough to be seen with me?

 

I am looking at your American face

African resilient Baptist passionate

Beautiful – I wanted to talk with you

But your friend said: “You can’t sit with us”

 

While I am looking at your American face

I dare to caress your atheist, avant-garde short hair and wonder

Why don’t you have a spirit? This is so progressive,

So aggressive that it gives a little kick in my rope of hope.

Stumbling back to my comfort zone, I

 

I am looking at your American face

Mexicana devota de la Virgen Maria

and feeling that my face is like yours

but my spirit is not – you speak Spanish on the phone.

Dios mio! I love your accent.

 

Through your eyes, I look at my non-American face

Part of me says: You don’t belong here

The other part cries: Jesus, help me in this day.

 

Now I am looking at your Brazilian face

I maliciously wrap my arms around your waist

You look to me and say: “Ta louco?”

So all of a sudden your face becomes American.

then I –

 

I am looking at your American face and whispering

In God we trust.

 

December 10, 2015

Deixe um comentário

